Skip to content

Enough

April 28, 2013

Are you tender enough to be my man?

To absorb the pummeling of my anger and self doubt…

I’m not angry with you…

but I don’t trust you…

I’ve been taken in and chewed up one to many times.

can you endure the passion of my mistrust?

How long will you endure the kiln?

Will you douse it patiently…

With compassion…

fighting me with love…that I don’t believe in anymore

with hope popped long ago like,

backyard summer bubbles,

of childhood dreams past,

Are you tender enough to be my man

When I turn the blows,

vengeful, stinging thoughts on myself

Will you sit with me

Watch me take all I can dish out

as I bloody the face of my own soul,

Can you then take me to your chest

Bandage my heart with yours

Confront me with truth,

The truth only your love

Can translate to my

War wounded, weary heart,

Whisper my wild woman’s soul

Tempering her to a simmering roll of thunder

Down from the lethal lightening heights

That would sear the spirits of lesser men

Are you tender enough to be my man?

or will you quit when the rainbows evaporate,

when the sun looks covered in ash,

when the clouds are closer to our finger tips

than it seems our lips will ever be…

then…

will you be tender enough to be my man?

 

From → poetry, Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

