Skip to content

Example of how we learn HV

March 17, 2014

AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME…

Horizontal Violence in Nursing

I was teaching a clinical rotation and saw this first hand. Staff and a new graduate nurse were talking openly (I was not in view and the new graduate nurse was just listening) about how my students, “Didn’t know anything; were not as good as other schools”. The next week I happened again upon a conversation where the new graduate nurse was talking to another staff member about similar themes- bashing my students. I took this information as “research” in a way, I saw first hand how the neophyte nurse had seen this behavior (gossip, backstabbing) and then identified that it was how to gain acceptance into the team. In reflection, I continued HV by not stopping and addressing the new graduate or the staff who had taught her through modeling that this was appropriate behavior. I realize now that I need to not only lead by example in my…

View original post 25 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

