Skip to content

Can we

March 18, 2014

Take another road trip
…I hope it’s raining…
Just to
Find another Denny’s
(Because it’s what you are craving)
far too far away
To be a reasonable
Trip when there’s
Food in the kitchen
And nicer restaurants
We could walk to
And I don’t care
So long as I’m riding
next to you…
And…
I want to see the little deserted town
old buildings
Railroad tracks
And pavilions
Where passengers once
Would wait to ride
And loved ones awaited
Passengers.
I want to share that
Unspoken intimacy
With you
We both love that emptiness…
So ridiculous…
Take pictures of
The architecture
Letting our mutual knowing
Bounce between us
Wordless
But full.
I’ll put those pictures away
And remember you,
Years later when
My son says,
“Where was this Mom?”
More complete
Definitely more sad
For your absence,
Safe in the folds
Of my mind.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

